More information Roll over to find out more ...

Donate now

The National Handwriting Association is a registered charity reliant on donations and benefactors.

Become a member

Membership allows you to download our various publications – from just £15 per year.


We promote a series of publications written by our experts. Many are free to download for members.

Co-Opted Committee Biographies

Ann Markee MSCP (retired)

Ann Markee is a Children's Physiotherapist with a particular interest in DCD and handwriting. She has recently retired from the N.H.S. having worked at the Child Development Centre in Rugby for more than 30 years, where she set up a Handwriting Interest Group which included professionals from different disciplines.

Ann is the Regional Group Interest officer.

Christine Owen BScOT, MScOT, SROT

Christine Owen is Head Occupational Therapist of the Paediatric Occupational Therapy Service at St Johns Hospital in West Lothian (Integrated team across health, education and social work) and a Research Practitioner in the ACHIEVE Alliance, based at Queen Margaret University. Christine has worked in paediatrics for over 10 years, developing, among others, services for children with Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD), and she has recently completed her Masters in this area.

Currently Christine is seconded for two years and has taken up a role as Programme Leader for the new Post Graduate Certificate in Collaborative Working in Health and Education. Christine continues in her role as a research practitioner with the ACHIEVE Alliance Children's Pathway Project, implementing the findings of the review of evidence and models of practice employed by Allied Health Professionals in Scotland for children with Developmental Coordination Disorder.

Dorothy Penso

Dorothy was formerly an Occupational Therapist, particularly focusing on handwriting. Dorothy is the author of several books on handwriting and now co-ordinates the Friends of the NHA.

Lois M Addy Dip. COT, SROT, BSc (Hons), MA

Lois Addy is a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Life and Health Sciences, at York St. John University. She has over 26 years experience as a paediatric occupational therapist having worked in mainstream / special schools, and child development centres across the country. She has a particular interest in children with developmental coordination disorder (including dyspraxia) and her research in this area has included developing social skills, dyscalculia, handwriting, learning styles and physical education. This has been published and presented widely at both a national and international conferences.

Lois is on the editorial board of the CYPF-COT Specialist Sector and advisor/consultant for the National Handwriting Association.

Lorrie Sugden B.Sc., M.Sc, Diploma in the Provision for Children with Developmental Disorders

Lorrie's Bachelor and Masters degrees are in Kinesiology from the University of California at Los Angeles. She is currently the SENCo and Learning Support Teacher for three schools within the Silcoates Foundation: Silcoates Junior School (KS1 and KS2), Sunny Hill (Early Years) and St Hilda's (Yearly Years and KS1).

Lorrie is responsible for editing the Reviews section of the NHA journal, Handwriting Today.

Mary Chambers BA (Hons.), PGCE, MA, EdD Senior Lecturer in Special Educational Needs/Inclusive Education

Formerly a teacher of children with special educational needs, since 1996 Mary has worked in the School of Education at the University of Leeds and is a Senior Lecturer in Special Education/Inclusion. Her research focuses on various aspects of motor development with a special interest in Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD). Mary is the principal author of the Early Years Movement Skills Checklist – a screening instrument for children aged three to six years of age with coordination difficulties. Mary's other research includes work on the assessment, description and developmental course of DCD and intervention for children with DCD using parents and teachers.

Mary has been on the NHA committee since 2002 and is currently chair of the website subcommittee and a member of the journal, Handwriting Today, subcommittee.